Time to Clinch

In my 18 years of existence, I’ve never been more excited for the last four games of a Royals baseball season. Why? Because they are going to clinch a playoff spot.

The Royals, who face the Chicago White Sox in the last four days of the regular season, have a chance to clinch a playoff spot in any game. That’s right, any game. They would most likely be clinching a wildcard spot, but I don’t care. I can finally say my Kansas City Royals made it to the playoffs.

KC currently sits 3 games above Seattle, and is tied with Oakland for the top wildcard spot. The magic number is two, and the playoffs are in sight. Detroit has a two game lead in the AL Central, so the division is pretty much already clinched by Detroit.

The season has been filled with ups-and downs, given my about fifteen aneurisms, and made my cry and cheer in the same game at points. As a loyal fan for the past 18 years, this is the season I’ve been waiting for.

I’ve been lucky enough to not experience the pain and suffering of a playoff drought for as long as others have, but I’ve still felt the same pain suffering. So many times have the Royals shown glimmers of excellence and hope, only to crush our hopes and dreams.

This year has been different though. The Royals have fought, clawed, scraped and climbed their way to the top, and finally have a chance to make the playoffs. It all still feels like a dream, but a dream that this time won’t be crushed.

The Royals have a 99.9% of making the playoffs, and it would take a terrible, horrendous, ugly last four games to wipe away those chances. I’ve got my hopes up, and I’m certain I won’t be let down.

That being said, it’s time for the Royals to take care of business, and this 28 year drought. All it means is winning against Chicago, and hoping Seattle loses tonight. If that happens, they clinch.

It’s crazy to think that a team that’s been bad for so long can finally be good. Can finally compete for a spot in the post-season, and give a city what they’ve waited far too long for. ¬†For the Royals, now is the time to clinch. Right here, right now. Tonight.

Even if they don’t advance in the post-season, this season will certainly be a catalyst for seasons to come. A building block, if you will, for a franchise that can renew and redefine itself. A franchise that can find a way to compete once again.

This is the time to clinch, and the Royals are going to do it. I still can’t believe it’s happening, but I’m so glad it is.

Maybe there really are such a thing as Baseball Gods.

2 thoughts on “Time to Clinch

  1. Chris Jurewicz September 26, 2014 / 12:24 pm

    Awesome! This is so well-deserved for all KC Royals fans. I will wish you an early congrats and enjoy the postseason!

    Like

    • Tyler Wornell September 26, 2014 / 12:25 pm

      I’ve waited all my life to witness this, and it’s such a great feeling! Thanks for the read and comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

