I’m speechless.

After a crazy Royals win, I tried to sleep but couldn’t, so I thought I would write some post-game reaction instead. All I can say is, wow. What. A. Win.

The fans waited 29 years for a playoff game, and the Royals delivered a wild one. The best part? They did it the way they’ve done it all year. Bunts, infield singles, errors, stolen bases, everything. Brandon Moss hit two home runs tonight, and the A’s still lost.

I’ve criticized Ned Yost a lot this season, and I like to think that all of it has been fair criticism. He seems to lose his mind in high-pressure situations, yet still shows some signs of competency. Usually, it’s all in the same game, like tonight.

As I sat in my dorm room and tried to contain my excitement, I witnessed one of the greatest Royals wins EVER. This is one of those games that you always remember, including every single little detail.

I love Twitter, but sometimes I also hate it. Of course, I was following along and tweeting throughout the game, and seeing the fluctuations in reaction was crazy. From anxiety to excitement, to happiness, to sadness, to anger, to hope, to excitement again, anger again, and then excitement again. That’s the great thing about sports.

No matter what emotions we feel, how many loops there are on the roller coaster, or where we end up at the end of the season, the fans still love the team, and the team still loves the fans. Watching the game tonight was a one-of-a-kind experience.

I mean, just look at some of my tweets from tonight.

This first one is the anxious part.

Then came the excitement. (When the Royals scored to take the lead)

Then the anger.

Excitement again.

And finally, the eclipse.

They say that baseball is romantic, and I have to agree. Nothing beats watching the Royals play baseball in October (kind of) and better yet, WIN in October. This city and these fans never gave up hope, even if it seemed like they did.

More importantly, neither did the players. They just played their biggest game in 29 years, and will remember it forever.

I will too.

One thought on “I’m speechless.

  1. Chris Jurewicz October 1, 2014 / 12:56 pm

    Congrats KC! That was an incredible ball game. Enjoy the ride!

    Like

Leave a Reply

