Adventures with FIFA

While I have really tried to update my blog regularly, I must admit that I have become really lazy since the end of the baseball season. The Chiefs left me with far too much to desire, and neither the Seahawks nor the Patriots interest me enough to write about them. Instead, I’m going to write about FIFA.

I don’t own FIFA, but I do have a demo downloaded on my PS4 (which you should buy, if you don’t have one). While I am not a fan of soccer at all, FIFA has certainly peaked my interest. I’d like to take this time to run through some of my favorite and least favorite parts about FIFA.

Favorite: The Uniforms

Let’s be honest, the only reason people watch sports is for the uniforms. We all love seeing teams break out their alternate uniforms they only wear once a year, or maybe those 1965 throwbacks from the AFL days. Soccer teams have some of the coolest jerseys, and there never really seems to be one particular color scheme. They just do whatever they want, really.

Non-Favorite: The Commentators

I’m usually fond of british speaking commentators, with their super cool accents and lots of enthusiasm, but I can’t stand the FIFA commentators. Why? “Feel for them Alan!!!” When i lose  a match–which is often–I have to listen to this every time, and I hate it. I’ll explain further in one of my other non-favorites.

Favorite: Breakaway Goals

It is super easy to break through defenders in FIFA, and it’s enjoyable when it happens. The strikers march right down the field, stare the goalie in the face, and then smash the ball right into the back of the net. It’s a lovely feeling, and the celebrations are even better.

Non-Favorite: Scoring

So, I don’t really understand the point of playing a sport in which nobody can win. Even though the teams draw, they still both get points for the match. Standings aren’t determined by win-loss record, but instead by these “points” that are awarded per match. Thus, when I draw with Real Madrid in the FIFA demo, I technically lose the league championship, triggering the “feel for them Alan!!!” line, despite the fact that I didn’t really lose. You do you, soccer. You do you.


I suppose while I’m here, I can give you some thoughts on the Super Bowl.

First of all, I think the Patriots are going to win. I won’t give you a score, because that part really isn’t important. The Seahawks have an outstanding defense, but the Patriots have Tom Brady, and Bill Belichick. Aside from all of their cheating, this offense is better than Seattle’s offense. I spoke briefly about it on Overtime Live on KCOU 88.1 FM last Tuesday, but I believe the key factor in this game is going to come down to coaching. Bill Belichick is the better coach in this game, and the Patriots are going to win.

Okay, on to some baseball. What the heck is going to happen with James Shields? Maybe I’m just naive, but I am really surprised a team hasn’t given him a contract yet. I know he’s asking for a lot of money (over 100 million) but at this point, If I were him I would take any deal just to have a team to play for next year. If he’s still a free agent midway through February, the Royals have to take a chance on him. If a team hasn’t bit on him yet, I don’t think one will before spring training in March.

As for the Chiefs, they have a lot of decisions to make this offseason. First, they need to pay Justin Houston. He nearly broke the league record for sacks in a single season, and he has a lot more football to play. It would be great to see him and both Tamba back next year, but if I have to give one up, I give up Tamba. Justin has more upside at this point, and Derrick Johnson will be returning next year, as well. Oh yeah, the Chiefs should draft a WR.

Okay, that’s all I have for now. I’d like to say that I won’t wait an entire month again to post something, but I can’t make any guarantees. In the meantime, enjoy this video about cooks. 

7 thoughts on “Adventures with FIFA

  1. reptileguys February 13, 2015 / 7:44 am

    This article gave me a little bit of a laugh, thank you. I will always treasure your efforts in FIFA, and will always remember you losing when you try to play me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tyler Wornell February 13, 2015 / 7:46 am

      Uh, if I remember correctly, I whooped you in FIFA about four times.

      Like

      • TylerPutney February 13, 2015 / 11:11 am

        You should keep your opinion out of your journalism life

        Like

      • Tyler Wornell February 18, 2015 / 8:54 am

        I can be a journalist and still have an opinion. Not to mention, this is my personal blog. It’s literally just all my thoughts.

        Like

      • TylerPutney February 18, 2015 / 11:22 am

        I just like to get back at you for all of my hardships in journalism

        Like

Leave a Reply

