Weekly Wrap: Nat’l Champ, Opening Day, and The Masters

In an attempt to gain some regularity on my blog, I’m starting a new series this week I like to call the “Weekly Wrap” (please, feel free to suggest something if you’d like). The idea is pretty simple: i’ll take a look at the entire week of sports, highlighting all the major happenings. While I’d like to say that these will be focused on one sport, team or issue, I can’t. Especially this week.

This was probably one of the greatest weeks of the year, as it played host to the NCAA National Championship, Opening Day, and The Masters. If that’s not a great sports week, then I don’t know what is. I’ll touch on all three of these briefly in the Weekly Wrap, but you can probably expect something more in-depth on at least two of them–especially The Masters–later this week.

National Championship

Well, my bracket sucked, but the tournament didn’t. As always, it was filled with surprises, upsets and storybook moments. I’m not sure where it ranked in tournament history in terms of awesomeness, but you can do that for me if you want to.

First of all, Duke was magnificent in their championship run. They cruised through their region pretty easily, and I think we all knew after about the second or third round that they had the potential to go all the way. I thought Gonzaga might get the best of them in the Elite Eight, but they proved me wrong. As much as I wanted to see Wisconsin win, Duke was the better team.

How about all those departures from Kentucky, though? SEVEN players leaving for the draft, but that’s okay, because Kentucky managed to have another #1 recruiting class this year. As long as John Calipari is coaching the Wildcats, the players will keep on coming.

Opening Day/Week

What an opening week it was. We saw the Cubs fall flat on their faces against the Cardinals on opening night, as they continue to try and figure themselves out. I really do hope they can turn it on and pick up speed though, because I like rooting for the underdogs. They haven’t a won in a long time, and I guess they deserve it by now, much like the Royals did last year.

Speaking of the Royals, how about that 6-0 start to the season? Manhandling the White Sox on opening day 10-1, they came shooting out of the gates, and haven’t taken their foot off the pedal. After making easy work of the Sox and getting the sweep, they marched to Anaheim and took care of the Angels just as easily.

The pitching rotation looks great, as Ventura keeps throwing fire, and Edinson Volquez had a tremendous debut against the White Sox. The rest of the squad ran into a few hiccups in their starts, but overall nice work. Quality pitching combined with stellar defense seems to be a working formula for the Royals, and it’s paying off big time.

The Masters

What a great weekend it was for the game of golf. This tournament marks the beginning of what will be a fantastic season, and I have high hopes for several players, including the winner from this week, Jordan Spieth.

At only 21 years of age, Spieth is playing like a seasoned veteran. He maneuvered through Augusta seamlessly, taking control of the greens the entire week. He hit fairways, and stayed out of trouble. Simply put, he did what he needed to do to win his first major.

It felt good to see that Sunday Red from Tiger Woods again, as I firmly believe the game of golf is better when Tiger is playing well. His opening rounds weren’t stellar, but kept him in contention heading into the weekend. Unfortunately, Spieth was just too good for him to have any sort of chance of making a final surge on Sunday.

End

I couldn’t think of a good header for this conclusion section, so I went with end. It was an amazing week in sports, and I’m sad to see it end. However, I’m excited for what’s to come with the Royals and golf, and I have a feeling that’s what a lot of these Weekly Wraps are going to talk about.

Have a great week, everyone!

Leave a Reply

